ESNA 2018 | November 6-8, 2018 (Expo November 7-8)in Pasadena, California

Press Release

Energy Storage North America Announces Winners of the 2016 Energy Storage Innovation and Champion Awards

San Diego, Calif. – Oct. 5, 2016 – Energy Storage North America (ESNA), the largest gathering of policy, technology and market leaders in energy storage, today announced the winners of its 2016 Innovation Awards and 2016 Champion Awards.
The Energy Storage Innovation Awards were presented to three energy storage projects that demonstrated excellence and impact in one of three categories: Centralized Storage, Distributed Storage, and Mobility. Winners were recognized for their impact on the energy storage ecosystem, services supplied to customers and the grid, unique technology solutions, financing, or partnerships.
ESNA 2016 Innovation Award Winners:
●      Centralized Storage: The Village of Minster Energy Storage Project
●      Distributed Storage: PowerHouse - 20-home energy storage pilot
●      Mobility: EVgo & UCSD Second-life Energy Storage + Level 3 EV Charging
The Champion Awards recognize individuals from the utility and policy sectors who have demonstrated leadership in advancing the role of energy storage to achieve a cleaner, more reliable, and secure electric power grid.
ESNA 2016 Champion Award Winners:
Utility Champions
●      Josh Gerber, Manager of Advanced Technology Integration, San Diego Gas & Electric
●      Brad Rockwell, Power Supply Manager, Kaua’i Island Utility Cooperative
●      Neetika Sathe, Vice President, PowerStream Inc.
Policy Champion
●      President Michael J. Picker, California Public Utilities Commission
The awards were presented during an award ceremony at the fourth annual Energy Storage North America conference and expo at the San Diego Convention Center. More information on the award-winning projects and champions can be found here
“The individuals and organizations who received this year’s ESNA Awards have each played a key role in advancing energy storage through impactful programs, projects, technologies or policies,” said Janice Lin, Energy Storage North America Conference Chair. “Their work is transforming the energy storage ecosystem by opening up brand new markets and solving real-world problems for customers and the grid. The strength of our nominees was unmatched in 2016, reflecting the continued growth and maturation of our industry.”
Next year, Energy Storage North America will take place August 8-10, 2017, at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California.
About Energy Storage North America
Energy Storage North America is the largest conference, exhibition and networking event for the North American energy storage industry. Now in its fourth year, ESNA connects developers, energy users, utilities and policymakers to advance understanding and deployment of energy storage and ultimately build a cleaner, more affordable, and more resilient grid. For more information, visit